Blog Banner

What is DoD Directive 8140?

Details about the government directive set to replace directive 8570

What is DoD Directive 8140?

As the transition from Directive 8570 to Directive 8140 begins, New Horizons Learning Group's dedicated government team is here to guide you along the way. The DoD 8140 model is based on the National Institute of Standard and Technology (NIST) National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) standard. This model will define categories as well as job titles more clearly.

NHDoD Interactive Course Schedule - Click Here to Download  >>

New Horizons Learning Group has the training expertise and capability to thoroughly train Department of Defense (DoD) personnel and on contractors to comply with the very specific certification requirements of Directive 8140. The new framework allows for many different classes, certifications, and formalized training to now qualify an individual as “certified” in that task.

dod-directive-8140-security-provisionCentered around architecture and engineering. Certificates and classes include Project Management Professional, CompTIA A+ Certification, SharePoint Management and Server Administration.

dod-directive-8140-operate-maintainCentered around the daily operation and maintenance of computer, network and enclave systems. Certifications and classes include CompTIA A+ Certification, CompTIA Network+ Certification and Cisco Certification Network Associate (CCNA).

dod-directive-8140-protect-defendCentered around security and defending against cyber-attacks. Certifications and classes include CompTIA A+ Certification and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP).


Centered around analyzing networks, systems and exploitations to provide signatures and mitigation strategies.

  • All Source Intelligence
  • Exploitation Analysis
  • Targets
  • Threat Analysis

Certifications and classes include Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH).

dod-directive-8140-analyzeCentered around cyber operations and planning. Certifications and classes include CompTIA Security+ Certification.

dod-directive-8140-oversight-and-developmentCentered around the legal aspect, the planning and the education/training that needs to take place. Certifications and classes include Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) and Certified Information Security Manager (CISM).

NHDoD Interactive Course Schedule - Click to Download

Categories: NHDoD

Dan Curran

Dan Curran

Other posts by Dan Curran

Contact author

Related articles

Contact author


Subscribe for Future Blog Notifications